About Us

What We Do

Since 1980, the mission of the Texas Future Problem Solving Program is to teach students creative problem solving processes through competitive and non-competitive instructional programs so they learn to work with others in designing positive futures. These programs for students include:


Students apply their problem solving skills to a real problem in an identified community. This problem could be identified in a school, local community, region, state or nation. Actual implementation of the action plan is included in this component. GPS teams complete two practice problems and one qualifying problem throughout the school year and their local campus. Trained evaluators score the students’ work and return it with feedback including suggestions for improvement. The top scoring teams on the qualifying problem are invited to the Texas Affiliate FPS Bowl held each April in Austin. Scenario writing encourages students to develop and submit futuristic scenarios–word pictures of the future. Scenario writing is especially intriguing for students who enjoy creative writing and those identified as gifted in creative writing. Scenario Performance is an oral activity for individual students to enlarge ideas, enrich personal style, and predict accurate images of the future.  Students are challenged to create a story that lasts between 4-5 minutes, is set at least 20 years in the future, and arises from any one of the topics set in the FPS year.  This story is not written out in full; it is to be “told” and should be more “natural” and “spontaneous” in nature.  Performances should be creative and entertaining to an audience.

Who We Are

Cyd Rogers, State Director

Cyd Rogers has been a Texas educator for 40 years and involved in the Future Problem Solving Program for the past 20 years. She taught each of the Future Problem Solving components while in the classroom in the Midlothian ISD.  During that time she coached 17 Community Problem Solving teams and numerous Global Issues teams. Cyd became a Texas Affiliate Director in 2006, and has served as the President of the Future Problem Solving International Board of Trustees. She currently serves as the Topics Committee Chair for FPSPI.